Department of Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry, is a permanent organic unity of the , Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia, Universidade Nova de Lisboa (FCT / UNL), devoted to teaching, and scientific research and to provide services in areas of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Chemical Engineering.

The Chemistry Department (DQ), Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia, Universidade Nova de Lisboa , founded in 1981, has recognized market implementation of education and employment, particularly so because of the novelty and specificity introduced by the course in Chemistry with which teaching at the School of Chemistry began in 1981.

The Department has three Scientific Sections: Chemistry, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, and Biochemistry and Biophysics and one Center for Research - Centre for Fine Chemistry and Biotechnology (CQFB) FCT / UNL - being responsible for promoting and coordinating interdisciplinary research within the department. This Centre is part of the Associated Laboratory REQUIMTE. The President of the DQ is also the Director of CQFB. The Department Council, the Scientific Committee and the Executive Committee are responsible for the management of the DQ according to pre-approved Regulations.

At present the DQ has 51 career teachers, 8 Full Professors, 9 Associate Professors and 34 Assistant Professors. It also includes the collaboration of 38 Assistant Researchers. As non-teaching staff, the DQ counts with the help of 5 Administrative officers, 1 Laboratory technician and 5 Laboratory support staff.

The provision of the DQ is vast, both in the 1st cycle (Bachelor in Applied Chemistry and Biochemistry), as the 2nd cycle (Master in Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, Masters in Bioorganic, Biotechnology and Structural and Functional Biochemistry). At the doctoral level (3rd cycle), the DQ is the main responsible for several doctoral programs, including Sustainable Chemistry (collaboration with FCUPorto) and Bioengineering (integrated into MIT - Portugal). The DQ also is responsible for PhD Programs in Chemistry, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, Biochemistry, and Biotechnology.

Several partnerships are established with other Departments of the FCT, in all levels of education, with special relevance for partnerships with the Department of Life Sciences, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Department of Environmental Sciences, as well as the Core Department of Conservation and Restoration.